Advertising

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions|Odds
#53
Michael Saunders
AVG HR RBI
.273 8 34
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 384.40
Position: RFBorn: 11/19/1986 Birthplace: Victoria, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 11th Round by Mariners (2004)


Latest News
Dec. 4 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE10:42 PM CT-A day after Toronto acquired the Canadian outfielder in a deal with the Seattle Mariners, Saunders said he was ''honored'' by the opportunity to play regularly on home soil.
Analysis: The British Columbia-born Saunders, who spent 10 years with the Seattle organization, played for Canada at the World Baseball Classic in 2013 and said he understands the burden that comes with playing north of the border. "I'm a proud Canadian," said the 28-year-old, who cheered for the Blue Jays and Mariners growing up
Dec. 3 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-The Seattle Mariners have traded Saunders to the Toronto Blue Jays in exchange for veteran left-handed pitcher J.A. Happ.
Analysis: The deal was completed Wednesday. Toronto expects Saunders to immediately slot in as its left-fielder, potentially taking the Blue Jays out of the running for re-signing outfielder Melky Cabrera.
July 11 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Saunders returned Monday for the M's.
Analysis: Saunders was on the 15-day disabled list after suffering a grade two strain of his left oblique muscle on a check swing.
July 9 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Saunders was 2 for 4 in Tuesday's 2-0 loss to Minnesota.
Analysis: Saunders is 10 for 30 over his last eight games with five RBIs.
June 27 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Saunders was activated from the 15-day disabled list Friday following a brief rehab stint in the minors.
Analysis: Saunders was in the starting lineup for the Seattle Mariners' series opener against Cleveland. He had been on the disabled list since June 11 with joint inflammation in his right shoulder. In five games at Triple-A Tacoma, Saunders hit .450 with two doubles, one home run and seven RBIs.
June 12 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Saunders was placed on the disabled list following Seattle's loss to New York on Wednesday.
Analysis: Saunders is dealing with right shoulder inflammation.
June 6 6:03 PM PT7:03 PM MT8:03 PM CT9:03 PM ET21:03 ET1:03 GMT9:03 6:03 PM MST8:03 PM EST8:33 PM VEN5:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Seattle Mariners right fielder Michael Saunders has been sidelined by a shoulder injury.
Analysis: Saunders was replaced defensively in the fourth inning of Friday night's game against Tampa Bay due to soreness in his right shoulder. No other details were immediately available.
May 17 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Saunders broke out of his mini-slump by going 3 for 4 in Friday's 5-4 loss at Minnesota.
Analysis: Saunders had been hitless in 13 at-bats over his previous six games.
May 10 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Saunders has left Seattle's game against the Kansas City Royals after the third inning with a hyperextended left knee and is considered day to day.
Analysis: Saunders appeared to get hurt chasing a ball hit by Mike Moustakas in the third inning Saturday night, when his foot slid in the grass near the right-field line. Saunders fell to the ground and the ball bounced over him, allowing Moustakas to reach third with a triple.
May 4 11:31 AM PT12:31 PM MT1:31 PM CT2:31 PM ET14:31 ET18:31 GMT2:31 11:31 AM MST1:31 PM EST2:01 PM VEN22:31 UAE1:31 PM CT-Saunders went 2 for 5 with two RBIs on Saturday.
Analysis: Saunders is 6 for 13 in his last three games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Sea 46 122 13 27 1 3 0 4 6 40 4 1 .221 .258 .279
2010 Sea 100 289 29 61 11 2 10 33 35 84 6 3 .211 .295 .367
2011 Sea 58 161 16 24 5 0 2 8 12 56 6 2 .149 .207 .217
2012 Sea 139 507 71 125 31 3 19 57 43 132 21 4 .247 .306 .432
2013 Sea 132 406 59 96 23 3 12 46 54 118 13 5 .236 .323 .397
2014 Sea 78 231 38 63 11 3 8 34 26 59 4 5 .273 .341 .450
Career 553 1716 226 396 82 14 51 182 176 489 54 20 .231 .301 .384

Postseason


w11 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Advertising

Advertising