Advertising

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions|Odds
#16
Justin Smoak
AVG HR RBI
.202 7 30
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 230 NFBC ADP: 452.67
Position: 1BBorn: 12/5/1986 Birthplace: Goose Creek, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: S/L Draft: 1st Round by Rangers (2008)


Latest News
Dec. 4 11:08 PM PT12:08 AM MT1:08 AM CT2:08 AM ET2:08 ET7:08 GMT15:08 12:08 AM MST2:08 AM EST2:38 AM VEN11:08 UAE1:08 AM CT-The Toronto Blue Jays and free agent first baseman Justin Smoak have agreed to a one-year contract worth $1 million. The deal comes Wednesday, a day after Toronto declined to offer Smoak a contract for 2015, making him a free agent.
Analysis: Smoak batted .202 with seven homers and 30 RBIs in 80 games with the Mariners last season. Toronto claimed him on waivers on Oct. 28 and declined his $3.65 million option on Nov. 1. By signing Smoak after declining to offer him a contract, the Blue Jays were able to avoid a rule that prevents teams from cutting a player's salary by more than 20 percent from the previous year. Smoak earned $2,637,500 last season.
Dec. 3 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET5:58 GMT13:58 10:58 PM MST12:58 AM EST1:28 AM VEN9:58 UAE11:58 PM CT-The Blue Jays declined to offer contracts to outfielders Andy Dirks and John Mayberry Jr., and first baseman Justin Smoak before Tuesday's midnight deadline, making them free agents.
Analysis: Dirks was claimed off waivers from Detroit on Oct. 31, three days after Smoak was claimed from Seattle. On Nov. 1, Toronto declined Smoak's $3.65 million option. Smoak batted .202 with seven homers and 30 RBIs in 80 games with the Mariners.
Oct. 28 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-The Toronto Blue Jays have claimed Seattle Mariners first baseman Justin Smoak off waivers.
Analysis: The 27-year-old Smoak appeared in 80 games for the Mariners last season, batting.202 with seven home runs and 30 RBIs.
July 11 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-The Mariners recalled first baseman Justin Smoak from Triple-A Tacoma to take the injured Michael Saunders' roster spot.
Analysis: Smoak was in the lineup on Friday night for Seattle's series opener against Oakland. Proceed with caution if you try to use him since he has been terrible.
July 4 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Seattle activated Smoak from the 15-day disabled list Friday, though he was sent down to Triple-A Takoma.
Analysis: Smoak hit .208 in 63 games before straining his left quad. He hit .204 in 13 games during a rehab assignment with Tacoma.
June 11 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-The Mariners put first baseman Justin Smoak on the 15-day disabled list with a strained left quadriceps, retroactive to June 10.
Analysis: Smoak has been bothered by the quad for a couple of weeks. The switch-hitter says hitting isn't causing problems but running is where he is limited. Smoak is hitting .208.
May 8 10:01 AM PT11:01 AM MT12:01 PM CT1:01 PM ET13:01 ET17:01 GMT1:01 10:01 AM MST12:01 PM EST12:31 PM VEN21:01 UAE12:01 PM CT-Smoak hit an RBI single with two outs in the 10th inning to help the Seattle Mariners win for the 10th time in 12 games, beating the Oakland Athletics 6-4 a doubleheader opener on Wednesday.
Analysis: Smoak has seven of his team-best 22 RBIs during a six-game hit streak. He's 8 for 23 (.348) with three doubles and one homer during that run.
May 7 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE2:18 PM CT-Smoak drove in three runs and the Seattle Mariners beat the Oakland Athletics 8-3 on Tuesday night for their season-best fourth straight victory.
Analysis: Smoak, batting .250, is 6 for 16 (.375) with three doubles, a home run and five RBIs during Seattle's four-game win streak.
May 4 11:29 AM PT12:29 PM MT1:29 PM CT2:29 PM ET14:29 ET18:29 GMT2:29 11:29 AM MST1:29 PM EST1:59 PM VEN22:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Smoak drilled a two-run bomb Saturday.
Analysis: Smoak was hitless in eight at-bats entering that contest.
Apr. 3 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Smoak went 2 for 5 with another homer and two runs in Wednesday's 8-2 road win over the Angels.
Analysis: Smoak is batting .462 with two homers, seven RBIs and five runs through the first three games. Fantasy owners should continue to play him until he cools off.
Apr. 2 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Smoak was outstanding Tuesday for the M's.
Analysis: Smoak doubled in three runs and also singled. Smoak has six RBIs in the Mariners' first two games.
Apr. 1 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Smoak was 2 for 4 with a homer in Monday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Smoak has homered in each of his last two games against the Angels after going deep just twice in his previous 19 matchups with the Halos.
Feb. 15 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-The Seattle Mariners and Smoak have avoided arbitration by agreeing on a contract for the 2014 season with a club option for 2015.
Analysis: The Mariners announced Smoak's new deal on Saturday. Smoak will earn $2,637,500 this season and $3.65 million next season if the option is picked up. He was Seattle's last arbitration eligible player. Smoak, 27, hit a career-high 20 homers last season, but batted just .238. He improved after a stint on the disabled list in June, raising his average to .274 in early August before a swoon over the final six weeks of the season. Smoak ranked fifth among American League first basemen with a .995 fielding percentage.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Tex 70 235 29 49 10 0 8 34 38 57 1 0 .209 .316 .353
2010 Sea 30 113 11 27 4 0 5 14 8 34 0 0 .239 .287 .407
2010 Tot 100 348 40 76 14 0 13 48 46 91 1 0 .218 .307 .371
2011 Sea 123 427 38 100 24 0 15 55 55 105 0 0 .234 .323 .396
2012 Sea 132 483 49 105 14 0 19 51 49 111 1 0 .217 .290 .364
2013 Sea 131 454 53 108 19 0 20 50 64 119 0 0 .238 .334 .412
2014 Sea 80 248 28 50 13 0 7 30 24 66 0 1 .202 .275 .339
Career 566 1960 208 439 84 0 74 234 238 492 2 1 .224 .309 .380

Postseason


w12 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Advertising

Advertising