Advertising

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions|Odds
#65
James Paxton
ERA W-L K
2.25 2-0 13
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220 NFBC ADP: 305.79
Position: SPBorn: 11/6/1988 Birthplace: Richmond, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Mariners (2010)


Latest News
Apr. 9 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-The Mariners will be without Paxton after he was placed on the 15-day disabled list with a strained muscle on the left side of his back. Seattle announced the move Wednesday after an MRI confirmed the original diagnosis of a strained latissimus dorsi muscle.
Analysis: Paxton left Tuesday night's win over the Los Angeles Angels in the sixth inning after feeling a twinge in the muscle. Paxton got the win, retiring 14 straight batters during one stretch to improve to 2-0. Seattle recalled left-hander Lucas Luetge from Triple-A Tacoma to take Paxton's roster spot. Manager Lloyd McClendon said right-hander Chris Young will take Paxton's scheduled turn in the rotation on Sunday against Oakland.
Apr. 9 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Paxton earned a 5-3 win over the Angels on Tuesday.
Analysis: Paxton retired 14 straight in one stretch and allowed three runs in five innings. He left in the sixth after straining a muscle on the left side of his back. Paxton is scheduled to have an MRI on Wednesday, but didn't consider the injury serious.
Apr. 9 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Paxton has left Seattle's home opener against the Los Angeles Angels after straining a muscle in his left side.
Analysis: Paxton left in the top of the sixth inning Tuesday night. The team announced a preliminary diagnosis of a strain of the left lat muscle and said he will be re-evaluated Wednesday.
Apr. 3 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Paxton shut down the Angels in Wednesday's 8-2 road win.
Analysis: Paxton allowed two hits, two walks and struck out nine over seven scoreless innings. Fantasy owners in need of pitching may want to give the left-hander a shot.
Feb. 28 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-With Hisashi Iwakuma yet to throw this spring because of an injured right middle finger that will be in a splint for another three weeks, and Taijuan Walker shut down for at least a week with shoulder inflammation, the Mariners are leaning on Paxton to claim a rotation spot.
Analysis: Paxton provided hope, retiring all six batters in the Mariners' 12-1 rout of the San Diego Padres on Friday. "It's early in the spring but the young man has talent," Mariners manager Lloyd McClendon said. "He's capable of doing things. He pounded the zone down and that was pretty impressive."

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Sea 3 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 15 5 4 2 7 2 21 0.92 1.50
2014 Sea 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 6 3 3 2 2 0 13 0.67 2.25
Career 5 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 36.0 21 8 7 4 9 2 34 0.83 1.75

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Sea 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
Career 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 94 98 91 94.2 59.12
Curveball 26 84 79 82 16.35
Changeup 12 90 87 88.7 7.55
Cut Fastball 27 91 86 88.9 16.98

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Advertising

Advertising