Advertising

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions|Odds
#66
Yasiel Puig
AVG HR RBI
.296 16 69
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-3 / 235 NFBC ADP: 26.85
Position: RFBorn: 12/7/1990 Birthplace: Cienfuegos, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2012)


Latest News
Oct. 7 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE1:50 PM CT-Puig is not in the Los Angeles Dodgers lineup for Game 4 of their NL Division Series against the St. Louis Cardinals on Tuesday.
Analysis: Puig struck out seven consecutive times before he tripled and scored the tying run in the Dodgers' 3-1 loss on Monday night, which gave St. Louis a 2-1 lead in the best-of-five series. He is batting .250 in the series, going 3 for 12, with eight strikeouts.
Sep. 20 11:34 AM PT12:34 PM MT1:34 PM CT2:34 PM ET14:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE1:34 PM CT-Puig hit a three-run homer and doubled in the Dodgers' 14-5 rout of the Chicago Cubs on Friday.
Analysis: Puig is 14 for 34 (.412) with three doubles, two homers and six RBIs in his last eight games.
Sep. 19 11:06 AM PT12:06 PM MT1:06 PM CT2:06 PM ET14:06 ET18:06 GMT2:06 11:06 AM MST1:06 PM EST1:36 PM VEN22:06 UAE1:06 PM CT-Puig went 3 for 5 with an RBI in Thursday's 8-4 win at Wrigley Field.
Analysis: Puig is 11 for 27 with a homer and two doubles over the last six games.
Sep. 6 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Puig has been scratched from the Los Angeles Dodgers' lineup because of a stomach ailment. Manager Don Mattingly says Puig told trainer Stan Conte that he wasn't feeling well after bunting drills. Mattingly says Puig was scheduled for an IV.
Analysis: Joc Pederson made his third career start in center on Saturday night against Arizona. Puig is batting .295 with 13 home runs and 59 RBIs in 128 games, to go along with 10 outfield assists. Last season, he had 19 homers, 42 RBIs and a .319 average in 104 games.
Aug. 29 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Yasiel Puig is out of the Los Angeles Dodgers' starting lineup because manager Don Mattingly says the outfielder seems frustrated. "I wouldn't call it rest today. I think it's probably more a frustration day. That's what we've seen of him lately."
Analysis: Puig is in an 0-for-16 slump. Mattingly says his frustration, coupled with his 1-for-11 lifetime numbers against San Diego's Andrew Cashner, led to the decision for Friday night's game.
Aug. 16 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Puig went 3 for 4 with a double and two RBIs in Friday's 6-3 loss to the Brewers.
Analysis: Puig appears to be in another hot stretch, going 6 for 8 with three RBis in his last two games.
Aug. 4 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Puig stayed hot with two more hits in Sunday's 7-3 loss to the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Puig is 16 for 34 with eight extra-base hits over his last nine games.
Aug. 1 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Puig was 2 for 4 in Thursday's 2-1 win over Atlanta, doubling and hitting his 13th homer of the year.
Analysis: Puig is showing off some impressive pop lately with 15 extra-base hits over his last 17 games for a .750 slugging percentage in that span.
July 30 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Puig went 4 for 5 with two runs scored in Tuesday's 8-4 win over Atlanta.
Analysis: Puig is 9 for his last 19 with two doubles and four triples.
July 26 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Puig went 4 for 5 with three triples and two RBIs in Friday's 8-1 win at San Francisco.
Analysis: Puig become the first Dodger to collect three triples in a game since Brooklyn's Jimmy Sheckard in 1901.
July 19 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers held injured outfielder Yasiel Puig and shortstop Hanley Ramirez out of the starting lineup for Tuesday night's game against the Pittsburgh Pirates, but manager Don Mattingly doesn't believe either player needs to go on the disabled list.
Analysis: Puig hasn't played since his left wrist was hit by a pitch from St. Louis' Joe Kelly on Saturday. Mattingly said he's optimistic both players will be available to pinch hit on Tuesday night and called them "day to day."
July 13 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Puig has been ejected after being called out on strikes in the third inning of a game with the San Diego Padres on Saturday. Puig was tossed by home plate umpire David Rackley following back-to-back strike calls against Ian Kennedy.
Analysis: Puig's only other ejection came on June 11, 2013, in his ninth major league game, after a bench-clearing uprising that also involved Kennedy.
July 5 12:36 PM PT1:36 PM MT2:36 PM CT3:36 PM ET15:36 ET19:36 GMT3:36 12:36 PM MST2:36 PM EST3:06 PM VEN23:36 UAE2:36 PM CT-Puig knocked one out of the park for his fantasy owners Friday.
Analysis: Puig hit a two-run jack before going 0 for 5 the rest of the 9-0 rout.
June 26 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-A Miami judge has denied a motion by Puig to dismiss a lawsuit filed by a Cuban man blaming the player for his imprisonment and torture on the communist island.
Analysis: In the lawsuit, Miguel Angel Corbacho Daudinot claims he was falsely accused by Puig of involvement in human trafficking and was subjected to torture in Cuban prisons. U.S. District Judge Kathleen Williams denied Puig's request this week and set a trial date for November. Puig has denied the allegations. His attorney says in court papers that Corbacho Daudinot's torture allegations aren't sufficient under U.S. law.
June 7 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Puig departed in the fifth with a strained right hip flexor Saturday.
Analysis: He is day to day, and manager Don Mattingly was optimistic the injury won't be long term. Speaking through a translator, Puig said he felt something in his right leg while sliding hard on a double-play grounder in the fourth and didn't take the field in the fifth. "At this point, I think it's going to be one or two days," Puig said.
May 29 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Puig belted his 11th home run in Wednesday's 3-2 loss to Cincinnati.
Analysis: Puig is batting .402 with nine homers and 29 RBIs over his last 29 games.
May 17 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Puig went 3 for 5 with a home run, two RBIs and two runs scored in Friday's win over Arizona.
Analysis: He's hit safely in 15 games. Since April 30, he's batting .426 with five home runs and 19 RBIs.
May 12 9:08 PM PT10:08 PM MT11:08 PM CT12:08 AM ET0:08 ET4:08 GMT12:08 9:08 PM MST11:08 PM EST11:38 PM VEN8:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Puig was 2 for 4 against San Francisco on Saturday to extend his hitting streak to 10 games.
Analysis: Puig is batting .415 during his hitting streak with 10 RBIs.
May 10 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Puig hit his fifth homer in Friday's 3-1 loss to San Francisco.
Analysis: Puig has hit safely in each of the last nine games, a stretch during which he's gone 15 for 37 (.405) with two homers and nine RBIs.
May 9 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Puig was 1 for 3 Thursday against the Giants to extend his hitting streak to eight games.
Analysis: Puig is batting .424 during his hitting streak with eight RBIs. He also continues to be much more disciplined at the plate this season, drawing a walk every 9.07 plate appearances compared to 12.0 as a rookie.
May 7 9:57 AM PT10:57 AM MT11:57 AM CT12:57 PM ET12:57 ET16:57 GMT0:57 9:57 AM MST11:57 AM EST12:27 PM VEN20:57 UAE11:57 AM CT-Puig is back in the lineup three days after crashing into a wall during a game, but Matt Kemp is not starting. Puig is listed as batting fifth for the Dodgers against the Washington Nationals on Wednesday.
Analysis: He sat out games at Washington on Monday and Tuesday. He rammed his head, left arm and lower left leg against the fence as he tried to track down a double in the ninth inning of Los Angeles' loss at Miami on Sunday.
May 5 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Puig wasn't listed in the starting lineup for the Los Angeles Dodgers on Tuesday against the Washington Nationals, two days after he slammed into a wall trying to make a game-saving catch.
Analysis: Puig rammed his head and lower left leg against the fence as he tried to track down Jeff Baker's game-winning double in the bottom of the ninth of Sunday's 5-4 loss at Miami. The ball deflected off the wall and hit Puig in the face, and he fell to the ground. The Dodgers said Puig passed a concussion test after the game and that he would be day to day.
May 2 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Puig went a combined 6 for 10 with two RBIs and a steal in Thursday's doubleheader at Minnesota.
Analysis: Puig raised his average 33 points to .309, moving him above .300 for the first time since the second day of the season.
May 1 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Puig stayed hot with two more hits in Wednesday's 6-4 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Puig has two hits in five of his last seven games, a stretch during which he's batting .345 with four extra-base hits.
Apr. 26 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Puig was 2 for 5 with his third homer of the year Friday against Colorado.
Analysis: Puig appears to be heating up as he's batting .320 over his last six games with seven RBIs.
Apr. 17 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-The smugglers who helped Puig leave Cuba on a speedboat have made death threats against him and against a Cuban boxer who says he defected with Puig, according to court documents. The documents are part of a federal lawsuit in Miami and describe a dangerous odyssey of shady characters, unpaid smuggling debts and threats of violence that have followed Puig since he left Cuba by boat in June 2012.
Analysis: The tale is based almost entirely on the account of the boxer, Yunior Despaigne, who says he is afraid he will be hurt by the smugglers or their associates if Puig hasn't paid them money he owes. In a 10-page affidavit, Despaigne said a smuggler he knew as ''Leo'' sent someone to see him in Miami to deliver a message.
Apr. 6 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Puig was back in the lineup Friday for the Dodgers.
Analysis: Puig was hurt in a headfirst slide into first base against San Francisco last Saturday. He missed the next two games, then pinch hit Wednesday against Detroit and struck out on three pitches.
Apr. 5 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Puig was back in the lineup against the San Francisco Giants one day after being benched because he arrived late for the team's home opener.
Analysis: Puig was set to bat leadoff against Giants left-hander Madison Bumgarner on Saturday in the second game of a three-game series. Puig said he apologized to manager Don Mattingly and his teammates, and they accepted. That's small consolation for fantasy owners who don't know whether they can count on him, especially since traffic in L.A. is always bad.
Apr. 4 11:37 AM PT12:37 PM MT1:37 PM CT2:37 PM ET14:37 ET18:37 GMT2:37 11:37 AM MST1:37 PM EST2:07 PM VEN22:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Puig has been scratched from the starting lineup after arriving late for the Los Angeles Dodgers' home opener. The rest of the team was already on the field stretching before batting practice on Friday while Puig was getting dressed in the clubhouse. He had been slated to start in right field against the San Francisco Giants.
Analysis: Matt Kemp replaced Puig after manager Don Mattingly had earlier said Kemp wouldn't start. Kemp came off the disabled list on Friday, and according to Mattingly, Kemp was upset when initially told that he wasn't in the lineup. Kemp has been rehabbing from left ankle and shoulder operations. He was limited to 179 games during the last two seasons because of injuries.
Apr. 2 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Puig hit a 410-foot drive for a two-run homer and Zack Greinke won his season debut, leading the Los Angeles Dodgers to a 3-2 victory against the San Diego Padres on Tuesday.
Analysis: Carl Crawford started the game with a base hit and Puig then drove a 2-1 pitch from Ian Kennedy into the balcony on the third deck of the Western Metal Supply Co. Building in the left-field corner. It was his first homer of the season. Puig also singled and is 5 for 17 (.294) with four RBIs in his first four games this season.
Mar. 27 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers have held a team meeting to address Puig's baserunning blunders. Manager Don Mattingly called the meeting Tuesday after the 23-year-old Cuban defector made two mistakes on the basepaths during the second game of the Dodgers' season-opening trip to Australia last weekend - mistakes that made headlines in the media.
Analysis: Mattingly thought the meeting went well to help diffuse any trouble with Puig, who tested the Dodgers' patience during his rookie season last year with several mental errors on the bases and in the field. ESPN.com first reported the meeting.
Mar. 23 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Puig went 3 for 10 in the two-game season-opening series in Australia against the D-Backs.
Analysis: Puig is off to a solid 2014 start.
Mar. 15 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Puig went 0 for 4 to lower his spring average to .152. He also made a throwing error, his second error of the spring.
Analysis: The volatile Puig should be monitored closely.
Mar. 8 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig has been excused because of a personal matter.
Analysis: Issues like this will not impact Puig's fantasy status, as he should be good to go for Opening Day, making him one of the best outfielders available.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD 104 382 66 122 21 2 19 42 36 97 11 8 .319 .391 .534
2014 LAD 148 558 92 165 37 9 16 69 67 124 11 7 .296 .382 .480
Career 252 940 158 287 58 11 35 111 103 221 22 15 .305 .386 .502

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD Total 10 39 6 13 1 1 0 4 1 14 0 1 .333 .366 .410
    LDS 4 17 5 8 1 0 0 2 0 4 0 1 .471 .500 .529
    LCS 6 22 1 5 0 1 0 2 1 10 0 0 .227 .261 .318
2014 LAD Total 4 12 4 3 0 1 0 1 1 8 0 0 .250 .357 .417
    LDS 4 12 4 3 0 1 0 1 1 8 0 0 .250 .357 .417
Career 14 51 10 16 1 2 0 5 2 22 0 1 .314 .364 .412


w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Advertising

Advertising